PDP’s Kallamu Wins Mayo Belwa Constituency Bye Election to Take Over From Italiya in State Assembly.

By Abubakar Muhammad Adamu

The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC has declared the candidate of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) Alhaji Mahmoud Musa Kallamu as the winner of the just concluded bye election in Mayo Belwa constituency

Declaring the Saturdays bye election results at collation centre, the returning officer Professor Mohammed Baba Ardo of Modibbo Adama University Yola, revealed that, PDP’s candidate Kallamu scored a total number of 1306 cast to defeat the candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC) Ibrahim Musa Italiya who garnered 874 vote.

According to the INEC Returning Officer for the election in the constituency bye election, Prof Muhammad Ardo, Kallamu won six out of seven of the polling units in the election.

He said Mahmoud Musa Kallamu of PDP, having satisfied the requirements of the law, is declared winner and is returned elected.

INEC said that, there were a total 5024 registered votes, 2252 accredited votes, 2192 valid votes, 06 rejected votes as 2252 are the total votes cast.

The returning officer explained that, in the 2023 election there were a valid votes of 20824 and 367 rejected votes while votes cast stands at 21191 of APC scored 7912 while PDP scored 7840 with margin of 72.

Compared with the Bye Election exercise the registered votes are 56999 accredited votes are 24610 while the total votes cast are 23443

He declared that the candidate of PDP who scored in all a total of 9146 won the bye election as the APC’s candidate came second with 8786 votes in both the general and bye election.
Responding in an interview with Newsmen after his victory, the Member elect for Mayo Belwa Constituency Alhaji Musa Mahmud Kallamu appreciated his Constituents for their show of Support and pledged to justify the confidence in him by the electorates.
Also Speaking the Chairman Mayo Belwa local government council Malllam Muhammadu Usman Buji described the election as peaceful and hitch free.